Our day of departure

This is my entry for October 13.

I probably forgot to mention in yesterday’s entry that my husband managed to catch our indoor cat, suffering many scratches.

Our plan for the morning was to get up early, throw our mattresses into the truck, and leave. But we had so much left to do that we didn’t leave until 1:30 PM.

My husband wouldn’t let me drive the truck through town even though he was terrified of it and I wasn’t, so he asked us to stop in Fredericksburg and ask the pharmacist for something for his scratches. The pharmacist said he should go to a clinic, so we tried to catch him, but he was already out of town and wouldn’t turn around.

I drove the truck for several hours and only hated how the seat edge cut into the back of my legs. We made it as far as Ft. Stockton. My husband by then had a swollen hand and a fever, but he refused to go to the ER. We made it to bed fairly late. End of our first day on the road.

4 thoughts on “Our day of departure”

  1. Dear Kay, You’re worse than a television series!! — leaving us in the lurch until the next installment, hopefully tomorrow!…

    I do hope both you and Wayne have recovered by now!…. REST!!! 🌾🌈🌾 Jaga

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

