Bright lights, big carpet woes

Last week the new light fixtures I ordered for the bathroom came in, unfortunately too late to be installed by the electricians when they came back to fix a few things. That means my husband has been installing them, which has been an interesting process that has been going on since Friday. Like much in this house, the original bathroom lights were installed incorrectly, using the wrong type of box. So, my husband has had to improvise in order to get them in correctly. This has taken a lot of time and many, many trips to the hardware store. In fact, this weekend we made trips to four different hardware stores looking for the parts he needed and yesterday he went off again.

So far, my husband has replaced the smaller light fixture in the guest bath and one of the two larger light fixtures in the master bath. All three fixtures were the same—ugly with curlicues. When we bought the house, one was already broken, and the painters broke another one.

The new one is on the left; the old, broken, ugly one is on the right.

So, here is a picture of the master bath with one new fixture on the left and one old one on the right. They’re not in perspective because I could only take a picture of both of them from an angle.

So far this week, we have not seen any contractors, but they are supposed to come out either today or tomorrow to lay the rest of the hardwoods at the top of the stairs. A guy is also supposed to come out to measure the bathrooms, laundry room, and closet below the stairs for vinyl. We are replacing it in the bathrooms and laundry room and installing it in the new closet. I am also supposed to see some vinyl samples this week.

On the not-so-good front, I went back in to Lowe’s to order the carpet for the stairs and a guy came out and measured. He told us that the new staircase was too far away from the wall at the bottom because the wall is warped, so we have to fasten steel plates at the end of the stairs or else all kinds of things are going to go down the sides of the stairs and be trapped. But even worse than that, after I went in and paid for the new carpet installation, I got a call from Lowe’s saying my carpet is out of production and won’t be available until the end of May. So, my hopes that all our indoor renovations would be done within a week or two have been dashed. Now, I’m afraid that at the end of May they’re going to come back to me and tell me the carpet is no longer available. That wouldn’t be a problem if we weren’t trying to match the carpet that is already in the basement.

Also, the painters want to come back on Saturday to do touch-ups, paint the new shelves in the downstairs linen closet, and clear coat the new flooring at the top of the stairs. This will be the third time they have asked to paint on Saturday. Since we’re retired the day shouldn’t really make a difference, but it actually does. I said yes, but reluctantly.

On the hummingbird front, we now have hummingbirds zinging around the back deck almost constantly, especially by the red feeder. It was sunny enough for me to sit out on the deck one day last week, and the hummingbirds were fighting as usual. One almost smacked into my head! He stopped himself about two feet away from me.

I went out for an expedition with my sister and my three-year-old great nephew last week. We went to a nursery. I have been dying to add some color to our property, but I don’t have any beds yet. I went with her to buy primroses, and I showed her ranunculus, which she also bought. Then we all went to her place and planted flowers. The little boy’s job was to pick out the next color we were going to plant. He would say, “Pink! I like pink!” then the next time he would say “Orange! I like orange!” Apparently, he likes all colors, which is probably a good way to be. Later, when we did some work in the vegetable garden, he amused himself by pretending to dig up onions.

2 thoughts on “Bright lights, big carpet woes”

Leave a Reply

