Springtime, art, and stairs

The last week or so there have suddenly been signs of spring. The past three days have actually been sunny, which has so far been very unusual. I’m originally from Michigan where the sign of spring is rain (let’s not talk about Texas, where the sign of spring is a slight warming of temperature before it gets unbearably hot), so I’ve been thinking it was spring for a while. But now I’m seeing daffodils and crocuses, and lots and lots of cherry and plum trees are in bloom and some very tall white-blossomed trees.

Unfortunately, our property has no spring color, which I intend to do something about for next spring. This plan involves lots of bulbs, a forsythia bush or two, lilacs perhaps, and some Japanese maples. This weekend we stopped by a local nursery that someone has in their yard and bought two blueberry bushes, which I planted at the bottom of our little ridge across from the front of the house. A small start to my landscaping.

I love art supplies!

I am excited today because I am going to art class. My sister and I decided to take art classes together. Although both of us have dabbled (she more successfully than I), neither of us has had more than a few casual art classes. I always assumed she had taken art in high school because she was so good at it, but it seems not. She told me the only art class she’s ever had was in college, and all the teacher did was tell the class, “Paint whatever you want” and offered no instruction. I took a few classes from two different teachers, but only for a short while. Today we are starting a drawing class. Neither of us has ever had drawing.

The stairs are done except for the carpet.

We had the contractors out one day last week to finish the stairs. Then the painters came out on Saturday to finish up the interior painting. But there was a disconnect between the regular contractor and the painters, so not everything is quite done. There are still holes in the ceiling next to the new lights and the strips next to the stairs need to be clear coated. Our contractors are coming out tomorrow to clean up the small stuff, such as installing my husband’s closet doors (the previous owner removed the doors from some of the closets) and filling the holes.

Yesterday an asphalt contractor came out to bid on our driveway. I thought our driveway was very picturesque when I first saw it. It has two rows of these diamond shaped bricks, one for each set of tires, with grass growing between the spaces. Unfortunately, because of the wet winter and the number of trucks we’ve had in and out, it is now a mud pit. Many of the trucks missed driving on the bricks, or they had trailers to back out and were just trying to not get stuck in the mud. We also have a parking area at the side of the house. It looked good, with large gravel, but we didn’t know that the previous dingbats had put plastic underneath it, probably to keep the grass from growing there. That means it doesn’t drain properly, so mud pit number two. We are just waiting for a bid from another contractor to make up our minds, but the people who came out yesterday gave us a very reasonable bid, and they’re the ones who did my niece’s driveway last year. They are very happy with the results.

2 thoughts on “Springtime, art, and stairs”

Leave a Reply

