Signs of spring, no signs of lino

At least we have one flowering tree.

I was regretting the other day that our property seemed to have no flowering trees, when I looked out the window and saw that yes, we had at least one. A cherry tree had come into bloom. So, I took my phone out, even though it was a gloomy day, and took a few photos of the signs of spring on our property. There was the cherry tree, the beginnings of lotus buds on the pond, the wildflowers near the path on the way to the pond. Other parts of our area are blooming much more showily, but we can do something about that next year.

Big yellow lotus buds are at the edge of the pond to the right.

Our lino story continues. The marmoleum never arrived, so last week I got on the Forbo website and ordered my own samples. I discovered on their page that there were a lot more colors than the design center showed me. They showed me just one family of colors when they have six or eight. So, I ended up requesting six samples. I got a message from FedEx saying it had shipped, so maybe this time I’ll get my samples.

Itsy bitsy pinky purple flowers in the greenery

My contractor has yet to find me an installer, but I found a list of distributors in our area, and presumably they would know of installers. My understanding is that linoleum has been reviving as a trendy floor product, so I’m not sure why everyone here is acting like I want something unheard of. My niece spoke to me about it when I first moved here, because she wants to install it in her laundry room. She has friends who installed it in Portland and love it. And my friend from Portland told me that even when she was back in Michigan 15 years ago it was becoming more popular. It is a green floor product because of what it is made of, linseed oil and limestone and recycled wood flour, whatever that is. Even a friend of mine, who laid carpet while working his way through graduate school, knows how to lay it. Unfortunately, he lives in Illinois.

I had to laugh at what my niece told me about marmoleum. She said that vinyl is too shiny and that one of the reasons she likes marmoleum is because of its matte surface. I told her that when I was a child, we had a typical 50’s kitchen: aqua double ovens and a small aqua refrigerator (I can’t remember if the sink was aqua—I think it was white), formica counter tops with that space age design of rounded corner triangles in aqua and I think tan on white, and linoleum floors. Only, I told her, in those days everyone waxed their linoleum. One time we went over to a friend’s house, and their linoleum was unwaxed. We had never seen that before, so we thought their floor was dirty.

The electrician finished up the connections to the generator and sauna last week just in time for our latest power failure. Unfortunately, since the inspector hadn’t been out to look at the propane tank installation, we didn’t have any propane, so we had to rough it. The propane company reports that they are still waiting for the inspector. The inspector for the electrical work came right out the day the electrician finished, so that is all good. Of course, we found out from the electrician that no one had permitted any of the electrical work done in the basement.

On Thursday we had some sunshine, and my niece brought her kids over to help me plant my plants, by which I mean to plant them herself. While we were planting the bird’s nest spruce next to the fountain, we found a little hemlock sprig, which we moved to a better place. We ended up planting all of the plants on the ridge.

These are the cherry trees soon to be gone. Yes, the pink stuff on the ground is blossoms.

This weekend I had another outing to Portland to meet my friend. I drove to the airport area, where I parked my car and took the train into the city. I met my friend at the convention center, and we attended a pottery show. I have to buy a backpack for these expeditions, because I always end up buying something and having to cart it around. Last time, it was a gigantic loaf of bread. This time, I bought a cup at the pottery show, and I would have bought more—not for myself as I’ve decided we have enough junk when I look around at all the stuff that is unpacked, but as gifts for my friends—except that I didn’t want to have to cart a bunch of pottery back on the train. Later, we took the trolley to a nice Mediterranean restaurant, then took it back to attend the Portland Friends of the Library book sale. One of the sights my friend showed me was a beautiful street full of cherry blossoms. Apparently, this street, which people come from all around to take pictures of in the spring, will not be there much longer. They’re tearing it and the nearby park down to put up an ugly apartment building. “Paved paradise to put up a parking lot.”

I attended art class by myself this week. I started shading the leaves of my flower and got about halfway done. I wasn’t sure how much it really looked like a flower, but my instructor made me stand back and look at it. I guess it looks like a flower. I am now remembering the woman in our first class who was drawing what looked like a bunch of blobs and wondering if I am doing much better. I am interested to see how my sister’s bird of paradise is coming along, though.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Signs of spring, no signs of lino”

  1. What a shame about the street with the cherry trees! I love apple and cherry blossoms in the spring. The crab apple trees here are so pretty! They are worth having crab apples all over the ground in the fall. 🙂
    You’ll have to share your art with us once it’s done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

